Marijuana Dispensaries in Apex

Find Authorized Cannabis Stores Near You

Select a Distance
1 mi
2 mi
5 mi
10 mi
20 mi

Are there Marijuana Dispensaries in Apex?

No. Marijuana is prohibited for both medical and recreational purposes in North Carolina, including in the City of Apex. Consequently, there are no cannabis dispensaries in Apex. Marijuana is categorized as a Schedule VI substance under the state's Controlled Substances Act. As a result, possessing or selling the substance may result in legal consequences.

Are there Medical Marijuana Dispensaries in Apex?

No. Medical marijuana dispensaries are not in the City of Apex. Since medical marijuana has not been legalized in the state, no North Carolina jurisdiction may permit retailers to sell it.

Can You Buy Cannabis from Online Weed Dispensaries in Apex?

No. You cannot buy cannabis from online weed dispensaries in Apex, as there are no cannabis dispensaries in the city. Low-THC cannabis products are available to qualified residents through CBD stores. Some of the CBD stores in the city allow buyers to place orders online for low-THC products.

Visiting a Dispensary in Apex

There are no dispensaries to visit in the City of Apex, as medical marijuana dispensaries are illegal there.

Apex Dispensary Laws

Due to the fact that marijuana is illegal under state law, the City of Apex has prohibited the operation of cannabis dispensaries within its limits. Consequently, the Apex City Council has not enacted any ordinances for the operations of marijuana dispensaries.

Recreational Laws in Apex

Apex follows the same recreational cannabis regulations as the rest of North Carolina. Despite the state's partial decriminalization of cannabis possession, the possession of any quantity of the substance remains unlawful. This means that Apex residents caught in possession of cannabis may face reduced penalties but will still be punished.

In North Carolina, the penalties for cannabis possession vary depending on the amount in the offender’s possession. Possession of up to 0.5 ounces of weed is considered a Class 3 misdemeanor punishable by a maximum $200 fine. Possessing between 0.5 ounces and 1.5 ounces of marijuana is a Class 1 misdemeanor punishable by a $1,000 fine and a 4-month prison term. Persons caught with between 1.5 ounces and 10 pounds of cannabis are guilty of a Class I felony, punishable by up to a $1,000 fine and up to an 8-month jail term.

Medical Cannabis Laws in Apex

Despite medical cannabis being illegal in Apex as it is elsewhere in North Carolina, city residents are permitted to participate in North Carolina's restricted low-THC program. The program, known as the North Carolina Epilepsy Alternative Treatment Act, permits access to cannabis products with minimal levels of THC for individuals with intractable epilepsy who do not respond to prevailing mainstream medication. As per HB 766, which amended the North Carolina Epilepsy Alternative Treatment Act in 2015, low-THC products must be derived from cannabidiol (CBD) containing at least 5% cannabidiol but no more than 0.9% THC.

The state Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) - the department administering the restricted medical cannabis program, does not stipulate an age requirement for participants. If a state-licensed neurologist determines that an Apex patient of any age with intractable epilepsy will benefit from low-THC cannabis therapy, the physician is permitted to write a recommendation for low-THC cannabis for that patient. Currently, the state does not maintain a list of licensed neurologists who may issue low-THC recommendations, so patients must locate state-approved neurologists authorized to issue low-THC use recommendations.

Therefore, minors with intractable epilepsy in Apex may obtain low-THC cannabis products with the consent of their parents, legal guardians, or guardians serving as their primary caregivers. Note patients are required to designate a caregiver to purchase and administer cannabis for them. Caregivers must be North Carolina residents, at least 18 years old, and approved by the North Carolina DHHS. There are no provisions under the North Carolina low-THC program for cannabis cultivation; hence, patients or caregivers caught growing cannabis may face legal repercussions.

Note that medical marijuana may soon be legalized in North Carolina under the Compassionate Care Act. The Act, currently pending in the state House, would permit those with debilitating medical conditions, such as cancer, chronic pain, and Parkinson's disease, to use medicinal marijuana. According to the bill, patients would be required to provide written certifications from their physicians affirming they have a qualifying condition, and those under the age of 18 would be subject to specific restrictions on marijuana use.

How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Apex

There are no requirements for participants of the restricted medical CBD program operated in Apex and the rest of North Carolina to obtain medical marijuana cards. Typically, in states with robust medical marijuana programs, a medical marijuana card serves as a means of identifying state-registered patients and a requirement to purchase medical cannabis legally.

However, HB 1220, which established the medical CBD or low-THC program in North Carolina, requires a patient with intractable epilepsy to obtain a certification from a state-licensed neurologist for the use of low-THC products. The neurologist must attest to evaluating the patient and determining that the use of CBD or low-THC would be beneficial for the treatment of the medical condition.

Subsequently, the patient must appoint a caregiver to purchase and administer low-THC. The caregiver must be approved by the Department of Health and Human Services in North Carolina. Upon the approval of a caregiver by the DHHS, the individual may purchase low-THC cannabis products legally for the represented patient.

Where is it Legal to Consume Cannabis in Apex?

It is illegal to ingest or use marijuana in any form in public or private in the City of Apex, regardless of whether it is for medicinal or recreational purposes, as cannabis remains a Schedule VI controlled substance under state law. Persons approved to use low-THC cannabis products under the state's program are advised to use such products in their private residences.

How to Buy Cannabis at an Apex Dispensary

It is not possible to buy cannabis at an Apex cannabis dispensary as cannabis remains an illegal drug in the state and is not legally sold to the public.

The Average Price in Apex

With cannabis not legally available for purchase in the City of Apex, there is no established average price for cannabis in the city.

Most Popular Strains in Apex

Cannabis strains are unpopular in Apex since there are no legal means to purchase the drug owing to its illegal status statewide in North Carolina.

Can You Smoke in Public in Apex?

Since cannabis is not legal in Apex, smoking it in public is punishable by fines and potential imprisonment.

How Much Marijuana Can You Possess at Once in Apex?

Although the possession of small amounts of cannabis has been partially decriminalized statewide, possessing any amount of cannabis remains illegal. However, Apex residents with intractable epilepsy registered with the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services may purchase low-THC cannabis products containing no more than 0.9% THC. The quantities that may be held are determined by their recommending North Carolina-licensed neurologists.

Can I Ship Cannabis in Apex?

Under federal law, cannabis is categorized as a Schedule I drug, which makes it illegal to be transported across state lines. Additionally, North Carolina state law prohibits the possession, sale, and transportation of marijuana within the state. Therefore, shipping cannabis into or out of Apex is illegal.

Can I Order Cannabis Online in Apex?

Cannabis sales are illegal in Apex. Hence, you cannot order it online.

Are there 24-hour Dispensaries in Apex?

There are no dispensaries in the City of Apex.

Can Tourists Use Dispensaries in Apex?

Dispensaries are illegal in Apex.

Do You Need ID for Dispensary in Apex?

There are no dispensaries in the city.

Best Dispensaries in Apex

Cannabis sales are illegal in the City of Apex. Hence, no dispensaries exist in the city.

Do Dispensaries Scan your ID in Apex?

Apex does not authorize the operation of cannabis dispensaries.

How Many Dispensaries are in Apex?

There are no marijuana dispensaries in Apex.

Can Dispensaries in Apex Take Credit Cards?

Cannabis dispensaries do not exist in Apex.

How Many Dispensaries Can You Visit in One Day in Apex?

Apex does not permit the operations of cannabis dispensaries. Hence, there are no retail shops to visit in the city.

Do Dispensaries in Apex Take Health Insurance?

There are no cannabis dispensaries in Apex.

Do Dispensaries in Apex Track How Much Weed You Buy?

There are no recreational or medical cannabis dispensaries in the City of Apex.

Can You Enter a Dispensary in Apex at Age 18?

Apex does not allow individuals or entities to set up cannabis dispensaries, as cannabis is prohibited in North Carolina.

Where Can I Find Apex Cannabis Regulator’s Contact Information?

Cannabis is illegal and hence unregulated in the City of Apex. However, the low-THC or medical CBD program operated by the state in Apex is administered by the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS). To reach out to the DHHS, use the following contact information:

Mailing Address

2001 Mail Service Center

Raleigh, NC 27699-2000

Physical Address

101 Blair Drive

Raleigh, NC 27603

How Do I Report Illegal Cannabis Activities in Apex?

You can report illegal cannabis activities in Apex to the Apex Police Department by calling the PD at (919) 362-8661.