No. Marijuana dispensaries are not present in Concord as the use and sale of marijuana are illegal in North Carolina for medical and recreational purposes, per the state's Controlled Substances Act. It is classified as a Schedule VI substance.
No. Medical marijuana dispensaries do not exist in Concord, as medical marijuana has not been legalized in North Carolina. While the state has enacted a law, HB 766, allowing for the use of low-concentration cannabidiol (CBD) oil for those with intractable epilepsy. House Bill 766 does not provide any guidelines for the establishment of medical marijuana dispensaries within the state or specify how registered medical marijuana patients can obtain cannabis products. Typically, medical CBD products are obtained at CBD stores.
No. It is not legally possible for residents of Concord to purchase marijuana from online dispensaries as it is illegal in North Carolina, and there are no authorized online cannabis dispensaries in the city.
Concord residents who are authorized to use CBD extracts under the city's restricted medical program can only purchase these products from CBD stores, as there are no dispensaries in the city to visit.
Marijuana is illegal in all jurisdictions in North Carolina, so the City of Concord does not allow the operation of cannabis dispensaries within its borders. Consequently, there are no laws in place in the city to govern the operation of dispensaries.
In Concord, recreational cannabis possession, use, and operations are governed by the same rules as the rest of North Carolina. While the state has partially decriminalized the possession of cannabis, it has not legalized it. The state's partial decriminalization of cannabis only translates to reduced penalties for persons caught possessing the drug. Under the state's law, cannabis remains a Schedule VI narcotic, and possessing more than 1.5 ounces of the narcotic is a felony.
Up to 0.5 ounces of cannabis is a Class 3 misdemeanor carrying a fine of up to $200
Between 0.5 ounces and 1.5 ounces of cannabis is a Class 1 misdemeanor carrying up to a $1,000 fine and a jail term going up to 120 days
Between 1.5 ounces and 10 pounds of cannabis is a Class I Felony worthy of a $1,000 fine and up to 8 months imprisonment
Medical cannabis is illegal in Concord in accordance with state laws. North Carolina takes a different route from other states in making cannabis available to patients. North Carolina runs a restricted medical cannabis program. More precisely, the state runs a low-THC program that makes low-THC cannabis products accessible to persons with intractable epilepsy pursuant to HB 766. Hence, Concord residents diagnosed with intractable epilepsy can access low-THC cannabis by participating in the North Carolina low-THC cannabis program.
If a patient has been diagnosed with intractable epilepsy and the neurologist determines that low-THC cannabis therapy will benefit the patient, the neurologist is permitted, under HB 766, to issue a low-THC cannabis recommendation to the patient. However, in order for the patient to be eligible for enrollment in the state's low-THC program, the individual must have a caregiver who is the patient’s parent, legal guardian, or custodian. There is currently no list of licensed neurologists maintained by the state that Concord patients may use to find licensed neurologists qualified to issue low-THC recommendations.
Under the state’s low-THC program, Concord patients can use extracts from cannabidiol (CBD) containing at least 5% cannabidiol and no higher than 0.9% THC to treat intractable epilepsy. The North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), which oversees the medical CBD program in Concord, has not set age requirements for participation in the program. Hence, minors in Concord can still access low-THC cannabis if they have intractable epilepsy and have obtained the consent of their parents, legal custodians, or guardians serving as their caregivers. Caregivers must be at least 18 to be approved by the North Carolina DHHS. Note that possessing or consuming products containing more than 0.9% THC is an offense in Concord.
Cultivating cannabis under the North Carolina medical CBD program is not allowed and persons caught growing cannabis risk harsh penalties.
There are provisions in the North Carolina Epilepsy Treatment Act requiring patients to obtain medical marijuana identification cards. The Department of Health and Human Services, which supervises the low-THC program run in the state, only requires caregivers to register with the DHHS to administer low-THC cannabis on behalf of their patients.
Hence, Concord patients with intractable epilepsy cannot get medical marijuana cards. Concord patients only need to obtain written statements from approved physicians. The physicians must be North Carolina-licensed neurologists attached to the neurology department of North Carolina hospitals. After obtaining the low-THC recommendations, patients can have their caregivers register with the DHHS.
Consuming cannabis or using cannabis products is prohibited in all public and private locations within the city limits of Concord.
As there are no cannabis dispensaries in the city, it is not possible to purchase cannabis or cannabis products within the city limits of Concord.
Selling cannabis for medical or recreational use is prohibited within the city limits of Concord.
Cannabis sales are illegal in Concord. Hence, there are no popular strains in the city.
No. Cannabis smoking in public areas in Concord is illegal.
Although possession of small amounts of cannabis has been decriminalized statewide, it is still an offense to possess any amount of cannabis. Only persons with valid registrations with the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services may possess cannabis containing no more than 0.9% THC.
No. Shipping cannabis in any form or amount is against the law. Possessing, using, and selling marijuana are prohibited by state law. This applies to all forms of transportation, including mailing, courier, or any other means. Breaking these laws can lead to criminal charges and penalties.
No. Purchasing cannabis online is prohibited in Concord, as marijuana is illegal in the city. While state law allows individuals with intractable epilepsy to purchase CBD extracts containing up to 0.9% THC for the treatment of seizures, these products are only available at CBD stores.
No. As per North Carolina law, cannabis dispensaries are prohibited in any state jurisdiction. Therefore, you cannot find 24-hour dispensaries in the City of Concord.
No. Tourists cannot access weed dispensaries in Concord as the city currently has no operating dispensaries.
There are no weed dispensaries in Concord, as the sale of marijuana is illegal.
There are no dispensaries in Concord, as cannabis sales are illegal statewide.
There are no marijuana dispensaries in Concord.
Since cannabis is still illegal under state law in North Carolina, there are presently no licensed dispensaries selling pot in Concord.
There are no marijuana dispensaries operating in Concord.
It is illegal to operate medical or recreational dispensaries in Concord. Only CBD stores are allowed to sell CBD products containing less than 0.9% THC for use by persons registered with the DHHS. Hence, it is not possible to visit any dispensaries in Concord.
There are no dispensaries in the City of Concord. Persons buying low-THC cannabis under the North Carolina low-THC program can also not use health insurance to pay for their purchases.
Concord is not home to any marijuana dispensaries, as North Carolina bans the sale of medical and recreational cannabis statewide.
No dispensaries are authorized to sell cannabis in Concord, whether to adults or minors.
Cannabis is illegal in Concord and is, therefore, not regulated. However, the medical CBD or low-THC program in the city is administered by the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS). You may contact the department at:
2001 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-2000
101 Blair Drive
Raleigh NC 27603
You can report illegal cannabis activities in Concord to the Concord Police Department by calling the PD at (704) 920-5007.